Preparation

[Vicki MacDonald lives, with her husband Darwin, in Kronau, where she operates a day care.  She is also a woman of prayer and a serious searcher of the Scriptures.]

Growing up I really hated holidays of any kind, especially Christmas.  I really had nothing to look forward to.  If I could have skipped it, I would have!  However, I’ve come to gain a new perspective on the holiday.

I still struggle with setting new traditions and some years it is upon me like a sneak attack, then I’m rushing around like a madman trying to get things prepared. But Christmas comes whether I like it or not.

It’s the same thing with Christ coming.  He is coming whether I like it or not.  Am I, are you, are we going to be prepared for him or are we going to be rushing around like a madman at the last minute?

By nature, I do not like doing “prep work” of any kind.  As a rule, I’m usually not sure how to get things ready most of the time.  Planning it is just easier for someone else to do, that way I do not forget something or mess it up…even with writing!  If anything, I prefer to do cleanup because I like putting things back where they belong, and it’s almost always done to “my” specifications.

But Jesus is clear in John 14:1-4:

Let not your hearts be troubled, trust in God, trust also in me.  I am going to prepare a place for you with many rooms. Then I am going to come back and get you, because I’ve already cleaned up the mess and I am going to PUT YOU BACK WHERE YOU BELONG.

Looks like preparations are already looked after!

Add your piece. We'd love to hear from you!

