A Hopeful Longing

[ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Tim Wasyliw, along with his wife, Jennifer and two sons, Malachi and Myles, have recently moved to Regina, SK,  to pursue his education degree at the University of Regina.]

In my mind, the Hope the Lord has given us as believers, is often seen as less important when compared to the heavy-hitters of Love and Faith. However, as I looked up the definitions for hope, faith and advent, I was thrilled to find that while Faith is a confident and complete trust that something will happen, Hope is an excitement or desire for something to happen.

When I think of the second coming of the Lord, this definition speaks of joy and a longing for the Lord that can only turn into worship. It is my prayer that during this Advent season, I would be filled with that excitement and desire for the Lord, and that worship would flow from my heart as I eagerly hope for His hand to work in my life.

Also, the passage below has inspired me to remain hopeful during prayer. When it feels like an answer is not coming, these verses remind me to remain hopeful of God’s promises in His Word.

 

Luke 11:5-10 direct us:

“Then teaching them more about prayer, he used this story: Suppose you went to friend’s house at midnight, wanting to borrow three loaves of bread. You say to him, “A friend of mine has just arrived for a visit, and I have nothing for him to eat.’ And suppose he calls out from his bedroom, ‘Don’t bother me. The door is locked for the night, and my family and I are all in bed. I can’t help you.’ But I tell you this–though he won’t do it for friendship’s sake, if you keep knocking long enough, he will get up and give you whatever you need because of your shameless persistence.”

Add your piece. We'd love to hear from you!

