Joy in the Divine Invasion

[ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Heidi Fowler, and her husband Ryan, live in Weyburn.  Both were part of the Glen Elm Church of Christ during their university years. They are expecting their first child before 2012 ends!]

“But the angel said to them, ‘Do not be afraid. I bring you good news of great joy that will be for all the people. Today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you; he is Christ the Lord.’” (Luke 2:10-11)

This Christmas season I have had a forced slow-down. I am pregnant and due December 30. So instead of getting all caught up in the decorating, shopping, activities, and baking, I am prioritizing what the true important things are so I don’t wear myself out. I simply cannot do all the things I have done in the past. How will I find joy this year if I don’t have a clean house, Christmas goodies to share or my usual amount of Christmas decorations up?

I read an interesting piece by Mel Lawrenz recently that contained this quote: “Joy is the startling realization that God really has claimed territory in this world. He’s taken back what belongs to him.”

More than ever this year I am going to have to realize the true great joy that is remembered at Advent. God came to earth to reclaim his people with a Savior. When we remember that we are presented with God’s gift to the world, how can we help but be joyful?

 

Add your piece. We'd love to hear from you!

