Love is An Action

[ABOUT THE AUTHOR:  Taylor Procyshen, aged 24, is currently studying at the University of Saskatchewan. He wants people to know that he has been called the Derek Zoolander of his generation. ;-)]

love is a verbLove: Do you know what love is?

It’s a verb.

And a verb is a variety of things, but one thing a verb does, is it expresses an action (confession time: I had to Google what a verb was).

Love is a feeling, and an emotion, something intangible, but it is also something very tangible. It’s an action. For those who have spouses, or children, you will know very well that love isn’t just a feeling but an action.

When I look at God’s love, I see not just a feeling, but an action. Perhaps the most famous verse in the Bible, John 3:16 says, “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” You see what He did there? He gave. He moved. He performed an action. Talk is cheap, He knows that, so He backed up his feelings with an action.

If you’re like me, you’re probably thinking that my love doesn’t quite look like that. My love tends to be more of a feeling, rather than an action.

Here’s the bad news: You can love better.

Here’s the good news: You can love better.

As we are knee deep in the holiday stresses, take a moment, and reflect. If Jesus were to return tomorrow, the shopping lists and baking won’t matter. What will matter is how did you love? Did you love God, and did you love what God loves most–people?

John 13:35 says, “Everyone will know that you are my disciples because of your love for each other.”  People can’t see my thoughts, they can’t see my feelings, but they sure can see my actions.

Will you take this challenge with me to love better this holiday season?

As we wait for Jesus to return, lets not just wait uselessly. Let’s do something. God loved me and he loved you so much, that he became so little that he once fit inside a girls stomach. He was born where animals were housed, and was laid into a feeding trough. That’s certainly not the kind of entrance into human history I would have if I were God! If God is willing to give that much, surely I can give too. I’m not sure what that will look like for you, maybe its giving a homeless person a gift, a kind word to the stressed cashier, patience with other shoppers, I really don’t know, but let’s look to make love an action.

Add your piece. We'd love to hear from you!

