How Great Your Affections are For Me!

[ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Joylyn Roberts is completing her degree in social work at the University of Regina. She has no clue what the future holds, but feel deeply blessed to have the support and love of God, friends, and family as the chaos of a new transition begins.]

The Prodigal Daughter

The Prodigal Daughter

In the process of writing this blog, I decided to Google love.

It seemed logical at the time because Google knows everything. (Feel free to point out the faults in this logic. 😉 ) So I started searching through “love” images. A flood of red and pink hearts filled the screen. Who knew love was colour-coded? That was not the kind of love I was searching for.

After searching the internet and YouTube, and only pausing briefly to listen to Justin Bieber’s thoughts on love, I knew I needed to refine my search. As I searched “The Love of God,” the images drastically changed. The warped superficial images of love faded away, as images of affection such as the one above came into focus.

The title of the image to the right is The Prodigal Daughter. I was not all that surprised when I felt a personal connection to this image, but I was surprised by the emotion I felt in viewing this image. This image displays the heartache and pain of a woman who is weary and broken. This is only part of the story. The image also shows a beautiful response of compassion, forgiveness, affection, and love from the Father.

Suddenly, my heavy emotions made sense. This is not just an image. This image is my life. I am the weary and broken woman who is carrying her heartache and pain. In times when I push God away and disconnect from my faith, He continues to embrace me, hold me in His arms, and comfort me. I have made many mistakes and will make many more. I am a broken human being, but the love of God has saved me. At times, I find God’s love difficult to receive. I believe others deserve this love that is so grand and so deep that I will never comprehend it, but I do not believe I deserve it. How could I ever deserve the amazing grace and love of God? How could God ever look beyond my faults and weaknesses, my brokenness and my weariness, to love me? I mean, maybe the perfect version of me deserves this love, except that version doesn’t actually exist.

And there is the point, I suppose.

I can never really understand the depths of God’s love because it goes beyond human understanding. Love is not a feeling. Like Taylor said in an earlier post, love is an action. God holds us in His arms and He does not let go. He loves us not only as the people we aspire to be and may never become, but also for who we were in our past and who we are today. He loves us just as we are right now. Regardless of my faults and regardless of my weaknesses, I am loved in a way that I cannot comprehend. I am saved by the amazing love of Christ. As I await His coming, I focus on the unconditional love of God that I have been blessed to receive and I commit to sharing this love with others for His glory.

Romans 8:38-39 paints it like this:

For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Add your piece. We'd love to hear from you!

