The Power of Gratitude

[ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Married at 19, Jennifer Wasyliw is now a 25-year-old wife and mother of two. She and her husband Tim are blessed with two handsomely, rambunctious boys; Malachi, 2 1/2, and Myles, 16 months. Jennifer is a stay-at-home mom, who wants to get everything right, but fails miserably only to be caught in the grace of God.]
With the Christmas season under way, the one resounding thought in my mind is: gratitude. Thank you God, that you sent Jesus. I don’t say that enough. As I meditate on the four “Songs of the Season” which we are covering at church this month, I see that Mary, Zechariah, Simeon, and John felt the same way. Mary praises God! Zechariah praises God! Simeon thanks God! John speaks of his salvation!wasyliw familyAs I examine my days, I see endless piles of laundry, a mountain of dishes, near constant debating and negotiating with a 2-year-old, and a little cling-on attached to my right leg. But there is one thing that gets me through the day, if I am deliberate about turning my thoughts; gratitude, a thankful heart. If I can, just for a moment, take my eyes off of myself and release my expectations, I see how incredibly blessed I am.

I have two ridiculously adorable children, who are thriving and healthy. We have clothes on our back, food in our bellies and a roof over our head. But aside from all of our Western privileges, I have a lot more to be grateful for. When I need help remembering what some of those are, THIS POEM sometimes does the trick.

I have a Saviour that loves me — a Saviour that, aside from my utter failures; my lack of patience, my selfish ambitions and my apathy, came to earth as a sweet babe and died, bringing freedom and shining light. He then leaves a Helper to guide and comfort me each and every day, through every circumstance, good and bad, whether or not I take the time to recognize Him there — His fullness in my heart, until the day comes when we can be together, face to face. I am thankful that I have a Savior that loves me that much. I am grateful that Jesus, born of a virgin, came to rescue me.

So when I feel as though I am drowning in the ‘if onlys’ , I want to turn my heart in gratitude toward this Christmas child just as the Saints of old did.

Add your piece. We'd love to hear from you!

