Your Presence is All I Need

[ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Sarah Slywka spends her days teaching 30 sweet 10-year-olds. She loves people, travelling, curling, and most of all, her husband, Jonathan.]

Dwight Moody commented on faith: “Faith is the gift of God. So is the air, but you have to breathe it; so is the bread, but you have to eat it; so is water, but you have to drink it.”

Power-of-His-PresenceIn this season of giving and receiving, let us embrace the wonderful gift of God. Out of love, God has given His Son. What an incredible gift! However, if we fail to slow ourselves in anticipation of Jesus, how will we fully understand what we have been given? How will we know His Presence in our lives?

In the story of Christmas, I am amazed at the perspective and faith young Mary displayed. There was no selfishness or hesitation in her response to the Lord. She understood how her story intersected with God`s story. She embraced it with obedience, responding, “I am the Lord’s servant. May it be to me as you have said” (Luke 1:38). Mary’s immediate and faithful response leads me to believe that God, in His divine nature, was very much with her. She felt God’s presence near, and responded by offering her life to Him in worship. I am excited by God`s promise that we too may experience His presence in such real ways.

This autumn was, in a sense, a time of waiting for me. My grandma’s days on earth were numbered, so my trips to home to Yorkton were frequent. At this time, I longed for God to be with me. I longed to feel His presence near.  It amazes me how the Lord reveals himself to us when we seek Him. God was at work in a friend of mine, who made a CD of songs to bring comfort, hope, and peace. It was a simple act of friendship, but I believe it was a divine work of the Spirit. One of the songs on the CD became the song of my heart. The song resonated because it speaks of God`s presence as all we need.

“I Will Exalt” – Bethel Live (feat. Amanda Falk)

Album: Be Lifted High (2011)



Your presence is all I need
It’s all I want, all I seek
And without it, without it there’s no meaning
Your presence is the air I breath
The song I sing, the love I need
And without it, without it I’m not living



I will exalt You, Lord, I will exalt You, Lord

There is no one like You God

I will exalt You, Lord, I will exalt You, Lord

No other name be lifted high

There will be no one like You
And no one beside You
You alone are worthy of all praise
There will be no one like You
And no one beside You
You alone are worthy of all praise

In this busy and hectic month of December, let us chase after and embrace God’s gift of His presence. Let us not become too distracted with the activities of the season to miss out on anticipating God, Our Saviour – coming in the flesh. His presence is all we need. Let it be all we seek – for without it, there’s no meaning.

Add your piece. We'd love to hear from you!

