Anticipation

[About the Author: Karen Cooper loves her two grown daughters and strives to make a difference daily through her employment with Regina Community Clinic.]

Anticipation: The act of preparing for something; an emotion involving pleasure in considering some expected or longed-for good event.

AnticipationIn the Year of our Lord 2013 there have been some monumental events: the passing of Madiba, Typhoon Haiyan in the Phillippines, deadly earthquake in Sichaun, Boston Marathon blasts and my personal stupendous loss of my father in June. There have also been marriages, reconciliations, healing and new beginnings.

Some events of life are not planned for. Others are highly expected. Some events bring neither pleasure or are viewed as a “good” event. However, as we mature we tend to be able to view these occurrences in life as later creating the “greater good” in our lives and our spirit.

As a Christian, I believe the preparation comes from God. He puts specific people in our lives, places and events to bring us closer to Himself. The graciousness and goodness of God also takes “all our wrongs and makes them rights.” However, the choice lies within our hearts and whether or not we will be receptive and anticipate:

• Wonderful blessings

• Spiritual Wisdom

• Grace and Forgiveness

When I was younger I was very naïve to the day-to-day conflict and stress of living because both my parents created an environment to only anticipate things that were “wonderful and lovely.”

In my late twenties and early thirties, after “living a little” I understood (sometimes harshly) the meaning of “Truth and Consequences”. Choices, choices, choices…

What matters to me now is to “grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ.” (2 Peter 3:18). I anticipate that the last half of my life will be the best half as I press on, that I will lay hold of that for which Christ Jesus has laid hold of me. (Philippians 3.12)

I think our spirits are always a bit of “mixed emotions”, but the emotion that I hope to encourage you with this advent season is to anticipate joyfully the greatness of God. Keep the faith. Believe. Hope.

Be a child, get down on your knees, look up in the chimney (if you have one) or to the sky and anticipate, the Spirit of truth, coming, and Him guiding you into all the truth of your life’s journey on earth and anticipate it being AMAZING!

Add your piece. We'd love to hear from you!

