Radiant with Joy

[ABOUT THE AUTHOR: His name is Tim Wasyliw, and his life leading up to the Advent season has been busy, to say the least! He and his wife Jennifer just had their third child in late October, right in the middle of his fifth semester of a middle years education degree. Their other two boys love the new brother with too many kisses. This frequently ends up becoming a competition as to who can put their face the closest to his.]

Over the past couple of months there has been a verse that has been a very tangible source of encouragement for both my wife and I that comes from Psalms 34:4-5.

“I prayed to the Lord and He answered me. He freed me from all my fears. Those who look to Him for help will be radiant with joy.”
radiant with joyAs part of my course program, I was scheduled to complete one day per week of this semester in a grade seven classroom. I was to teach one lesson per day and also observe, help and learn from the cooperating teacher as best I could. This was a fear for me. Speaking in public is never something that I look forward to doing, yet I am on the path to being a teacher. God has a good sense of humour at times. Facing my time in an elementary school caused me to look to the Lord and ask for help, guidance, and the ability to shine His light.
“He freed me from all my fears.”
This truth is something to which I will always hold onto tightly. As I quiet my busy mind and heart, and allow the truth of the Word to sink into my situation, I find myself not worrying about how the day will go, but excited to watch and see what the Lord is going to do.
“Those who look to Him for help will be Radiant with Joy.”
The reason we can be radiant with joy is because You answer us, Oh Lord! You hear us as we call to You and You come down and reveal Yourself to be faithful. So during yet another Christmas season, as we look to You for help, come once again, Lord, and make us Radiant with Joy!
Add your piece. We'd love to hear from you!

