Surrender

[ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Esther Dupperon calls Regina home, though she has lived at numerous Canadian locations throughout her life.  Part of the Glen Elm church, she is a faithful servant and a treasure to all who know her.]

Surrender has been on my mind a lot lately. It first popped up in November when I was learning a method of meditation. The purpose of this meditation is to prepare you for prayer and call upon the Lord, then surrender to the message.

This concept of surrender was interesting to me. I looked it up in the dictionary and it was defined as “ a giving over of ones self to power or influence “. I am in tight control of my life and how it plays out. Control of my environment and the events that occur is the way I live.

As an experiment I went on a holiday with family and gave over the planning and booking of flights, hotels and events to them. I had a very good time. That needs to be said. However, I had great chunks of my tongue bitten off and a walk or two to work off the frustration of things not being done as I would have done them. This showed me that I truly do have an issue with control in my life.

Later in November I was able to attend a seminar at church with Brad Jersak. This was also about prayer, learning to listen to God’s message and surrender.

Now Christmas is upon us and again we are learning of surrender. Focus on Mary and the task she was called upon to do. A young woman who was shaken to her core by God asking her to flout the society she lived in, have a child while unmarried and potentially lose the man she was to marry. She surrendered. Her life was completely altered.

Would I do that? Many questions come to mind when I think of God working in my life. Am I good enough? Do I have the skills? Who would listen to me? How would I know what to say anyway? I fear I might even question how things are done if they didn’t go my way.

We have been taught to pray “Thy will be done”. I have indeed often said this and then bargained or suggested how God’s will should be rolled out. It seems I have to stop this, be still and wait upon the Lord.

At work the other day I walked into a room and the TV was on. Joyce Meyer was speaking. The minute I was in the room her quote was “Stop living in fear you are going to do the wrong thing – if God gives you something to do he will anoint you to do it”. She went on to expound on Romans 8:31-39, a great place of reminder of the power and victory awaiting those who surrender to the One who loves us most.

31 What shall we say about such wonderful things as these? If God is for us, who can ever be against us? 32 Since he did not spare even his own Son but gave him up for us all, won’t he also give us everything else? 33 Who dares accuse us whom God has chosen for his own? No one—for God himself has given us right standing with himself. 34 Who then will condemn us? No one—for Christ Jesus died for us and was raised to life for us, and he is sitting in the place of honor at God’s right hand, pleading for us.

35 Can anything ever separate us from Christ’s love? Does it mean he no longer loves us if we have trouble or calamity, or are persecuted, or hungry, or destitute, or in danger, or threatened with death? 36 (As the Scriptures say, “For your sake we are killed every day; we are being slaughtered like sheep.”) 37 No, despite all these things, overwhelming victory is ours through Christ, who loved us.

38 And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow—not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love. 39 No power in the sky above or in the earth below—indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Add your piece. We'd love to hear from you!

